Mad Love

MADMEN DMJon Hamm & Jessica Pare as Mr. & Mrs. Draper – AMC’s Mad Men

It’s nearly time for Mad Men’s Season six 2-hour premiere on April 7th….can’t wait. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again…brilliant writing. If you grew up in the sixties, this show resonates to the core. I truly admire and am perhaps a bit jealous of Matthew Weiner’s ability to write characters who are deeply flawed and therefore, deeply interesting…it never bores. From the moment I watched the ep where Betty shoots the birds, I knew it was something very different from what has gone before.

Just when I thought Matthew had reached the pinnacle with the episodes “The Suitcase” & “The Summer Man” then last season brought the deeply moving “The Other Woman” & “The Phantom”. In The Other Woman, when Don shows up at Joan’s apartment to dissuade her from trading herself so that they might land Jaguar and she might secure herself a place at the men’s table, she sweetly thanks him for his act of chivalry (something new for Don), when we as viewers know as Joan does that he’s too late. I remember having conversations with my girlfriends and we all had the same dramatic responses to that episode.

The season five finale was memorable for me mainly due to a poignant scene between a guy we’ve been set up to dislike from the beginning, Pete Campbell and the object of his affection, Beth. Pete seemingly has everything and yet in a prior ep, he tells Don sadly…”I have nothing” and you realize that he very probably has made choices based upon what seemed socially acceptable at the time and not upon real passions. The conversation he has with Beth in the hospital is truly memorable when he explains his life with his family was some temporary bandage on a permanent wound” .

As we dive back into the world of Mad Men, with Lane having made a rather abrupt exit, will it be Sterling, Cooper, Draper… Holloway? Or as my friend Steph and I hope…Olson, as we want Peggy to come back into the fold. I can’t wait to find out what they’ve been up to. Who’s in?

3 thoughts on “Mad Love

  1. Can’t wait too! Best show on TV. Two hours will not be enough…and I wish every episode was two hours!!! Will Don cheat on Megan? Will we miss Lane…like for maybe two seconds. Will Peggy come back? she has to! If we care, will Betty make some waves in Don’s life…mmmmmm…..

  2. You’re right — the writing on this show is superb, both the dialogue and the story crafting. The line you quoted was sheer poetry; a musician I know compared it to Shakespeare. And where there’s great writing there’s great acting. It takes fine actors to handle subtle material like this. At my acting studio, we hold up “Mad Men” as a example of the aesthetic of economy. It’s not the number of lines, but what’s underneath the lines that matter. In the very last scene of last season, I don’t think Don Draper utters a single world. To quote Sanford Meisner, “An ounce of behavior is worth a pound of words.” Exceptional show, for sure, and I can’t wait either!

Leave a Reply

