Junkie for the Printed Word

WomanBook

 “She was a junkie for the printed word. Lucky for me, I manufactured her drug of choice.” ~Grady Tripp {Wonder Boys}

I’ve always been a voracious reader, but recently I’ve gotten back to knocking off one book after another with the same dedication as I did when I was a kid. Growing up we had three beautiful old Chokecherry trees in our backyard and I would spend much of the summer sitting under one of them reading all day long, only coming indoors for lunch & dinner. Although I know many extol the virtues of electronic versions of books, but for me, I remain stubbornly old school…I love a book I can hold in my hands, the sound the pages make as you turn them, I even love the smell of the paper, binding… I will however cop to downloading Kindle to my laptop to read a friend’s mini memoir sold only thru that source but that remains thus far my only foray into ebooks. So here are some of the ones I have read somewhat recently or am currently reading…

THE BROOKLYN FOLLIES – Paul Auster
WINTER JOURNAL – Paul Auster
THIS IS HOW YOU LOSE HER – Junot Diaz
ALMOST THERE – Nuala O’Faolain
THE ROOTS OF AMERICAN ORDER  – Russell Kirk
THE SUMMER WITHOUT MEN – Siri Hustvedt
A HOLOGRAM FOR THE KING – Dave Eggers
ALTHOUGH OF COURSE YOU END UP BECOMING YOURSELF – David Lipsky
THE MAIN DISH – Michael Ruhlman
LIT – Mary Karr
THE ENGLISH MAJOR – Jim Harrison
ALL MY FRIENDS ARE GOING TO BE STRANGERS – Larry McMurtry
RICHARD BURTON DIARIES
READING LOLITA IN TEHRAN – Azar Nafisi
THE MARRIAGE PLOT – Jeffrey Eugenides
ARDENT SPIRITS – Reynolds Price
SEIZE FREEDOM – Thaddeus McCotter
HOUSE – Michael Ruhlman
COME TO THE EDGE – Christina Haag
NORWEGIAN WOOD – Haruki Murakami
ORACLE NIGHT – Paul Auster
THE GAP – Richard Lorber & Ernest Fladell
BY NIGHTFALL – Michael Cunningham

2 thoughts on “Junkie for the Printed Word

  1. Thanks for the beautiful list darling. Always wonder what you’re up to in reading…and of course I never remember what that great book was you mentioned…thus, I have just copied down this list…by hand…the printed word… 🙂

  2. From one word junkie to another…I’m always happy to share my list of favorites with you my friend. Hope there’s something you’ll love in that list too!

Leave a Reply

