The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

craig maraPhoto Credit: ©Jean-Baptiste Mondino

Having months ago read Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander trilogy, I was eager to see what David Fincher had up his sleeve in bringing the first American version to the big screen – a huge undertaking, as Larsson covers quite a lot of ground in the first novel, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”. I was finally able to get around to viewing it this weekend and Fincher didn’t disappoint. Naturally I expected some things had to be cut, although nothing sacrificed was truly missed. The film was beautifully cast, with Rooney Mara as the dark, damaged Lisbeth Salander, Daniel Craig as the earnest (in perhaps all but love) journalist Mikhail Bloomquist and the always-amazing Robin Wright as his business partner and longtime married lover.

The film adaptation was duty bound to hold up the more gritty aspects of the novel for it drove your indignation as a reader with a deeply set desire for Lisbeth to exact revenge in return. Truthfully a few scenes were tough to watch and I looked away but as I said, it just made the revenge scenes that much better. All in all, I really did like the film and I’ll be checking in on the next two, which I hope will be brought by David Fincher as well.

Watching Rooney lift Lisbeth from the page, giving her flesh and blood reminded me of a quote from Josephine Hart’s novel “Damage”…

“Damaged people are dangerous. They know they can survive.”

937950-Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, ThePhoto Credit: Columbia Pictures 2011

2 thoughts on “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  1. Great review. I haven’t seen the film yet, afraid of those violent scenes I guess. Do you think they’ll make the other films? I just wonder if this one got as much attention as the film company wanted. I agree, the film is perfectly cast. I love Daniel Craig. He’s perfect for the part, even though I think Rooney probably manned-up a bit more in the movie!

  2. beautifully awesome quote. and i love the descriptive term ‘damaged’ as she is just that. a girl whose suffered torture and has been victimized results in a damaged soul who in turn becomes strong out of necessity for survival sake. i just finished the book earlier last week, and saw the movie last night. like you, i had to look away at the few rough scenes, though the revenge scene i didn’t not feel squeamish or cringe. that guy had it comin’.

Leave a Reply

