Henry dominates my thoughts….

Henry Miller in Big Sur

Lately I find myself absorbed once again in the writing of one of my favorite authors, Henry Miller and also listening to some amazing interviews as well. I have long appreciated some of Henry’s philosophies and also his raw and honest way of writing.

I wish I could hold these Paris notebooks in my own hands and thumb through them over and over. One of my favorite books is Henry’s “My Life & Times” by Playboy Press – it has some copies of his writings in his own hand and I never tire of reading it. I loved it so much, I purchased a second copy from PA’s Harvest Book Co. (a great place 2 buy books) I’m currently reading my 1963 copy of the correspondence between Henry & Lawrence Durrell…love, love, love it.

Henry Miller’s “My Life & Times”

I have over the years pieced together a nice collection of Henry Miller books, including collected letters. Henry loved writing letters, continuing written conversations with several people he found inspiring. He seemed to understand the artist’s innate need to stimulate inspiration, the give and take of ideas and support that can flow between like-minded people.

Henry Miller Wallace Fowlie

I have the collected letters between Henry & (Lawrence Durrell, Anais Nin, Brenda Venus and Friday I was able to add Wallace Fowlie. I just became aware of this book only a week ago and there it was on the used stacks at Barnes & Noble, a 1975 first edition for $1.50. Can you say bliss? I started reading it right away and am loving it. Now I have to work on finding his letter’s to Emil….
“Every man has his own destiny: the only imperative is to follow it, to accept it, no matter where it leads him. ~Henry Miller”

2 thoughts on “Henry dominates my thoughts….

  1. Great post. God, the notebook does look fascinating…I’d love to hold it too and read through it…my notebook looks so neat and unworn…why can’t it be tattered and scribbled in like this?! Love the drawing in it also.

  2. I know what you mean…it probably got that way from lugging it everywhere…maybe some Parisian cafes… So I guess we’ve got to throw ours around more. =)

    Lis

Leave a Reply

