Bella Songstress

Stevie Nicks is a beautiful, talented songwriter, and that voice, that amazing voice. As a kid, I practically wore out “Rumours” and over the years I have always gravitated toward the songs that Stevie wrote herself {Sara/Silver Springs/Gypsy/Landslide/Leather & Lace/Rhiannon}. I always felt she was at the core of Fleetwood Mac, with a distinctive voice and a great talent for songwriting.

In addition to all of this, she also has been her own girl, who early on developed her own personal style. I guess her style has Bohemian roots but she always seems to put her own stamp on it.

She truly is a talented lyricist, writing the most poetic lines…..

Wait a minute baby, stay with me a while
Said you’d give me light but you never told me about the fire

Drowning in the sea of love, where everyone would love to drown
But now it’s gone, it doesn’t matter what for
When you build your house, then call me “Home”

And he was just like a great dark wing, within the wings of a storm
I think I had met my match, he was singing and undoing and undoing the laces, undoing the laces.

I also liked Stevie’s solo album, “Bella Donna” which was released in 1981 and featured duets with Don Henley {Leather & Lace} and Tom Petty {Stop Draggin’ my heart around} and “Edge of Seventeen”.

Still beautiful at 62, her voice is still amazing and she continues to collaborate with other artists like, Michelle Branch, Dave Stewart, Waddy Wachtel, and Mike Campbell (of the Heartbreakers). She is currently working on a cd with Dave Stewart and doing some touring. You can check out her website below.

Stevie Nick’s Official

*Song lyrics: “Sara” ©Stevie Nicks

2 thoughts on “Bella Songstress

  1. I have to say, Stevie is the perfection of bohemian ideal. I heard that she has her entire wardrobe from her career. It must be amazing to see. I love the picture of the band. Perfect. And the song, Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around with Petty is one of my faves. (Petty fan here also). My girls love Edge of Seventeen. There’s a story behind that one too. Stevie was sitting with I believe David Bowie’s wife, I could be wrong, and Bowie’s wife comment on someone being the age of seventeen, but with her British accent is came off as “edge” of seventeen. Stevie titled her song with that. I love it, if it’s true.
    Great post.

  2. Thanks for those stories, I hadn’t heard them before. I would love to see the clothes collection too…amazing I bet!

    Lis

    p.s. I’m a Petty fan too. =)

Leave a Reply

