Très beau

“The Nut Gatherers” by William Adolphe Bouguereau 1882

This is one of my favorite paintings by William Adolphe Bouguereau. The original hangs in the Detroit Institute of Arts and a copy in my home. He was born in La Rochelle, France in 1825 and lived until 1905.  I think his work is so beautiful and alive – the eyes so expressive. Check out more from the amazing painter below:

“The Bohemian” by William Adolphe Bouguereau 1890

“Le Gouter” by William Adolphe Bouguereau 1895

And one of his most famous……..

“The Birth of Venus” by William Adolphe Bouguereau 1879

2 thoughts on “Très beau

  1. About 17 years ago I opened a small antigue shop in in Lafayette, Louisiana. I call it “Dream Cather”. I chosethe image of the
    “The Nut Gatherers” for the front side of my business cards. I purchased aoil reproduction of the portrait and it still hangs in my living-roon, today. The image beautifully captures the essense of frienship between women. Nancy Lynn Tucker

Leave a Reply

