65 Songs about Joe

“If you were Diane Court would you honestly fall for Lloyd? …”

Yeah….what girl could resist the awkward sweetness of a romantic guy like Lloyd Dobler? Mentions of John Cusack will forever conjure up the image of a young guy in a trench coat hoisting a boom box over his head right? The same goes for Peter Gabriel’s “In your eyes”. As much as I loved “High Fidelity” – it’s still Lloyd that comes to mind first when Cusack is mentioned. I loved Lili Taylor in this film too (as you might have guessed from the post title) with all her dramatic love for Joe, a guy who likes girls with names like Ashley….. Cameron Crowe has a knack for authentic dialogue and as you watch the film, you find yourself hoping against hope, practically willing everything to work out for Lloyd because there is something recognizable in him for all of us I think. The 20th Anniversary Edition DVD of “Say Anything” is currently up on Amazon— “get ready for greatness……”

Pic: Ione Skye, John Cusack “Say Anything” Cameron Crowe 1989

3 thoughts on “65 Songs about Joe

  1. Say Anything is one of my favorite John Cusack films. I loved the speach he gives at the family dinner about the type of jobs that he won’t do…I wish I could remember it. This film is worth looking at again for sure. I love your posts. You always come up with things that I love and have loved. Speaking of Cusack, my little silly movie love from long ago is a stupid skiing film called Better Off Dead, a comedy in which his character is constantly trying to off himself over the loss of his blond beauty love, Beth. His attempts are always subverted by some silly event happening with his crazy family. Have you ever seen it? Think he did this before Say Anything, but around the same time. One of those high-school flicks, but my hubby and I still say “Where’s my two dollars?” on occassion (which has to do with the paper boy showing up at odd times chasing down John for his payment). Anyway, I would love to see Say Anything again.

    Peace…Jenn

  2. Thanks Jenn, I’m glad you liked the post and it is funny how many things we both like isn’t it?! I haven’t seen the film “Better off Dead” but I’m going to check the library and see if I can get it–sounds funny. My friend and I do the quoting the film thing often too–anytime one of our favorite lines applies. Sometimes people look at you like your crazy but you and your friend totally get it right?! I looked this up for you my friend…..

    Love, Lis

    “I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that. ” ~Lloyd Dobler

  3. And then when her parents ask him what he wants to do? I believe he replied “Kick boxing.” or something close to this. So funny.

    Please keep in mind, if you locate Better off Dead and actually sit through it, it is one of those quirky 80s films that may or may not be that good when looked at after all these years. Or perhaps it will be quite funny.

Leave a Reply

