Take 2 from Jimi

rockroll_026_jimi_hendrix

“My goal is to be one with the music. I just dedicate my whole life to this art” ~Jimi Hendrix

My ex-husband loved Jimi’s music in a monumental way and when we were just dating I bought him a box set of albums (geez I’m old) – it had a reprint of the Electric Ladyland cover and I thought he was gonna lose it when I bought this for him. He picked it up like it was spun gold and I have no doubt it’s in the exact same condition as when he got it. For some reason I thought about that today, probably because I went to my favorite local music store today and felt a little sad. My local store is really terrific, a place where you can walk in and talk with the owner and guys that work for him; three great guys who just have a pure love of music.

“You have to give people something to dream on” ~Jimi Hendrix

They host parties for the new releases, host local bands and can talk with you as long as you’re up for it about one musician after another. It’s sad because as nice as it is to order a cd from Amazon and get it in a few days for a good price, it’s just killing these great shops where you can just relax, hang out and discover some new music. You just can’t get that online, it’s just not the same, never will be.

Leave a Reply

