That Old Magic

EBWHITE“Writing is an act of faith, not a trick of grammar” – E.B. White

When I was a child, all I really wanted to do was read. I read everything I could get my hands on and I am blessed with a mother who was always a willing supplier of books and music; she was a believer in the power of art. She tried never to limit me in that department and I’m grateful for it. Out of all those books, by many wonderful authors, I found my ultimate writing hero in the ‘70’s in E. B. White. There was just something about his writing that was special and my favorite was, ‘The Trumpet of the Swan’ – the story of Louis, the swan who couldn’t seem to find his voice but prevailed anyway. Some days when I write, I feel just like Louis, with hope in the direction of that prevailing part. Recently I picked up my copy of the book and when I read those first lines the feeling that I felt as a child when I first picked it up came rushing back on me….it was like magic. That’s what E. B. White’s books will always be for me, “pure magic”.

Leave a Reply

