Wartime Writings

One of my all time favorite authors, Marguerite Duras, for years kept 4 journals in a closet at her home in France; Neuphle-le-Chateau. The journals, written between 1943 and 1949, hold the first drafts of her most famous works including, “The Lover”, and “The War”. These writings are said to reveal her upbringing in colonial Vietnam, her emigration to France and her life through the war into the Liberation and events she observed in the presence of resistance members. I believe her novel, “The Lover” is one of the most amazingly well written books of all time. I re-read it once a year and it never loses its luster for me. A new book of these journals titled, “Wartime Writings: 1943-1949” is listed on Amazon for pre-order in the United States and I can hardly wait to read it. I feel the same way I did when they were about to release Sylvia Plath’s unabridged journals, like a kid at Christmas…can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

